The EBM Board of Directors


Alan Bishop – AM

Director since 1975.

Alan Bishop was the founding principal of EBM in 1975 and has over 40 years in the industry. National President of the National Insurance Brokers Association (NIBA) from 1996 to 1998, Alan served 15 years as a Director and was awarded an Honourary Fellowship. During this period, as well as steering EBM to become the largest privately owned Australian broker, Alan was involved in directing the insurance broking industry through some of its most turbulent times such as the HIH crisis and the introduction of the Financial Services Reform Act (FSRA). In 2019, Alan was a recipient of the Order of Australia in for his significant service to the insurance industry and community. He also currently serves as a member of the Churchlands Senior High School Foundation (Inc.) board.



Ward Dedman

Director since 2014.

Ward has over 20 years’ experience in the insurance industry having commenced in claims and underwriting for major insurers in 1994 before joining a broking firm in 1997. Ward commenced with EBM in early 2000 and during this time has transitioned from General Manager to Managing Director (Group Operations) and into his current role of Chief Executive Officer / Executive Director. His unique understanding of the insurance industry includes a long association with the National Insurance Brokers Association (NIBA). This includes being a past recipient of the National NIBA Young Professional Broker of the Year Award (2007), serving as Chairman of NIBA’s WA Divisional Committee, and his current position as NIBA Vice President.




Sharon Fox-Slater

Director since 2020.

Sharon Fox-Slater is the Managing Director of EBM RentCover, a national organisation protecting more than 160,000 rental properties across Australia. She commenced a role with EBM back in 1993 and was part of the core team that helped launch one of Australia’s first landlord insurance policies into the market. Sharon was the first woman in Australia to complete the Advanced Diploma in Insurance Broking.



Steve Sparkes

Director since 2014.

Having commenced his insurance career with a major insurer in 1986 Steve joined EBM as an Account Manager just 2 years later, taking over a number of accounts from outgoing director John Molineaux. Over more than 25 years with the company Steve has transitioned from Executive Account Manager to General Manager and now as Director of Broking.



Jeff Adams

Director since 1987.

Served over 40 years in the industry and 29 were spent with EBM until transitioning to Executive Consultant and non-Executive Director in 2014. Over this period Jeff was involved with growing the EBM business and as its Managing Director leading EBM to the most enviable position of Australia’s leading privately owned and operated insurance broker. Jeff is a Qualified Practicing Insurance Broker, has achieved an Advanced Diploma of Financial Services (Insurance Broking) and attained Fellowship of NIBA. He also currently serves as Chairman of the Scott Joyce Appeal Fund, a public charity.



Dalton Gooding

Director since 1998.

Dalton is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants, a Managing Partner of Gooding Partners Chartered Accountants and was a former Partner with Ernst & Young and Chairman of the West Coast Eagles. He is also the Chairman of TFS Corporation Ltd, Brierty Ltd, Katana Capital Ltd, St Ives Pty Ltd and a board member of RAC Holdings Pty Ltd, RAC Insurance Pty Ltd and a Councillor of RAC.

Quick Contact Form

EBM are able to provide a wide range of services, many of these will require a professional to contact you to discuss precise requirements.

For a general enquiry, complete the below. For a more detailed enquiry please click here.

Privacy Acknowledgement - For more information about our Privacy Policy, ask us for a copy or view here. By completing the request below, I certify that I am aware that any collection of personal information is used in accordance with EBM's Privacy Policy.*

Please enter the code you see in the image on the left into the box above. Note: This is case sensitive. e.g 'h' is different to 'H'